Al-Hakam

Wisdom requires standing away and then stepping forward.

I was born standing far away, so much so that the other children knew they could not reach me, and they did not try. I lived many lives a watcher and witness, yet I find life’s true lesson cannot wait to be seen. So, I tried many ways to mingle and meet, but found I’d forgotten how to properly greet. Saddened, I fell back into my cocooned dark mind and prayed to my Lord that its thread would unwind:

“I have seen what is seeing,
I have known what is blind,
and for all I can hope,
Lord upon me be kind!”

So here I am teetering on delusional ledge, as I spread out my wings and plunge to earths gritty bed. I only can Trust that God will temper the winds, or else soften the ground should I drop my winged bands.

Did I land, did I drown? Did my grip melt away?

I certainly cannot tell now, and I won’t till the Day.

Al-Hakam. (Photo via Ashraf_Naqish on Flickr)

Al-Hakam. (Photo via Ashraf_Naqish on Flickr)

Leave a Reply

